FacebookTwitter
Green Bay's Largest Independent Bookstore.
Twelve Thousand New & Used Books.
Imagine Infinitely. Shop Locally.
Staff Reviews

Virginia Kress

See All Reviews
   
The French Gardener

The French Gardener
Santa Montefiore
Simon & Schuster
Publish date: 2009-06-01
$15.00
978-1-4165-4374-9
paperback
in print

Synopsis:

A neglected garden. A cottage that holds a secret. A mysterious Frenchman (handsome, naturally). A family in need of some love. These elements are entwined in this heartwarming novel.

Review:

Originally published in Great Britian, The French Gardener is sweet romantic story not without its fair share of heartbreak and tension. In fact it is two love stories told in tandem. One is set in the 1980's and revolves around a woman named Eva and her family andthe other 25 years later, around a woman named Miranda. Both unfold at Hartington House in rural England, not far from London and both feature the dazzling Jean Paul. You guessed it, the french gardener.

As Jean Paul first helps Eva (early80's) to create the most magnificant gardens in the region and later helps Miranda to restore them; he unknowingly heals these families and his own. His story is slowly revealed by a diary once kept by Eva and laterfound by Miranda and teaches us that a garden in all its glory can like love itself restore the human spirit.

This sensible yet touching novel is rife with intricate descriptions of the magical garden as it blossoms to life. So descriptive in fact you can almost see it in your mind's eye and smell the perfume of the flowers wafting through your windows.

Obviously this book is written for anyone who appreciates the serenity of lovely gardens. Aperfect choice for fans of Maeve Binchey and Rosamunde Pilcher. It's just a nice story with an ending where all the pieces fall into place. Excellent beach read. Book club discussion guide included.

   
HOME | EVENTS | PHOTO GALLERY | STAFF REVIEWS | BEST SELLERS | BOOK GROUPS | SERVICES | ABOUT | CONTACT